## Rocky Flats Coalition of Local Governments

**Boulder County** 

City of Broomfield

Jefferson County

City of Arvada

City of Boulder

City of Westminster

Town of Superior

8461 Turnpike Drive, Suite 205 Westminster, CO 80031

(303) 412-1200 (303) 412-1211 (f) www.rfclog.org

July 9, 2001

Senator Wayne Allard 525 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Allard:

We are writing to update you on our continuing discussion of regional transportation issues as they relate to "The Rocky Flats National Wildlife Refuge Act of 2001." In our January 8, 2001 resolution on this bill we agreed that, pending the outcome of an alignment study for the area at or near the eastern and southern boundaries (Section 13) of Rocky Flats, we would decide whether to recommend the bill be further amended to address any issues raised in that study.

We are in receipt of the attached transportation alignment study commissioned by the city of Arvada. While the study primarily focused on areas apart from Rocky Flats, one of the options evaluated included routing a parkway south along Indiana and then west through Section 13. This route, if agreed to, would have required a change to the current bill language.

The study concludes the best option is, consistent with the current bill language, to reserve a 300' transportation corridor along Indiana Street. Consequently, as the city of Arvada has conveyed directly to you, there is no need to amend the bill language to meet their transportation needs. As the Coalition Board of Directors, we unanimously concur with Arvada's conclusion and thus support of the current bill language.

Thank you for considering our thoughts on this matter. We look forward to continuing to work with you in other forums to address regional transportation issues.

Sincerely,

/s/

/s/

Michelle Lawrence Jefferson County Sam Dixion

City of Westminster

/s/ /s/

Lisa Morzel Hank Stovall
City of Boulder City of Broomfield

/s/ /s/

Lorraine Anderson Matt Magley
City of Arvada Town of Superior

Cc: Sen. Wayne Allard

Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell

Rep. Diana DeGette Rep. Scott McInnis Rep. Bob Schaffer Rep. Joel Hefley